Perfectionist Writer Problems: You May Be a Perfectionist If . . .

As a lifelong perfectionist in recovery (optimistically), this post penned by Michelle Mueller via The Sarcastic Muse really resonated with me. Every item in her list made me laugh. Some hit home hard enough to induce a wince, but most made me remember that those of us who both benefit and suffer from our perfectionist ways have our own reasons for doing these things, and all of us care deeply about the quality of the work we introduce into the world. If you’re in the community of recovering perfectionists, I think you’ll enjoy this post as much as I did.

The Sarcastic Muse

Perfectionist Writer Problems: You May Be a Perfectionist If . . .I was chatting with Chris last week about my novel issues. Yes, with my thesis looming over my head I’m having, of all things, novel issues. I am not a fire and forget kind of writer. I’m an agonize over every word even when I know I’ll probably burn the draft in a fiery pit of doom kind of writer. Perfectionists are an odd sort, and the longer I hang around the writer corner of the internet, the clearer it is to me that the writing world is full of them. *Waves at all fellow perfectionists*

The sarcastic muse has struck me this week, so below I’ve amassed a list of some perfectionist problems. At least the ones that are familiar to me.

Disclaimer: I can’t speak for all perfectionists. Also, some points may dually apply to self-proclaimed non-perfectionists, too. (Imperfectionists?)

You may be a perfectionist if . . .

View original post 589 more words


Leave a Reply

